You can learn everything you need to know about RemIT right here.

Either you need the INSTALLATION MANUAL or you want to SUPPORT a remote computer user, or just YOU NEED SUPPORT yourself, click one of the aforementioned options.

 

INSTALLATION MANUAL

After you download RemIT installer in the Download section, you need to run the installer on your computer.

WARNING! Until we get certified with Microsoft Smartscreen, it may be necessary to choose the "More info" and "Run anyway" options just after starting the installer. Shown on the following screenshots.

First Click "More info":

First Smartscreen Popup

And then "Run anyway":

Second smartscreen step

The installation is best run with default options. The installer itself will suggest where and how our application should be placed.
It's enough to install RemIT just once, it's being run on-demand, meaning after you click one of the icons that appear on the desktop after installation is complete.

 

CLIENT INFORMATION

Which icon from the desktop you're supposed to click, depends on the fact if the IT support is going to need to access any administrative tools on your computer. It's best that you consult each other before running RemIT.

Using the icon called RemIT (administrator) is recommended only in cases where the IT guy decides that the problem needs full computer administrative access to be resolved.
Otherwise it's enough to click on the RemIT icon without (administrator). This option is also safer, as even after giving the IT support specialist the data from "Your data" window, you can still refuse to accept the incoming connection as there's a popup window asking for confirmation. When you use the administrative option such confirmation is not required and the session is started when the support guy puts your ID and password in the RemIT window.

The person that needs to access your computer needs exactly 2 parts of information:

  1. Numeric id found in "Your data" section "Username" field
  2. "Password" or pincode, from the second field (below)

After receiving that information from you, any person coming from the other end of the world, will be able to see what you currently have on your computer's desktop. What's more, that person is going to be able to support you in your everyday problems (those of IT nature).

DISCONNECTING

If, at any time, you feel you want to stop sharing your screen, just right mouse click the RemIT icon in the tray near the clock and choose "Stop RemIT". The service will be closed and any remote sessions immediately terminated.

 

IT SUPPORT SPECIALIST INFORMATION

First thing - WHEN IN DOUBT, PRESS F8. SERIOUSLY. When connected to your client's computer with maximized window, you can always press F8. It has a bag of tricks.

Now back to the point...

You need to put the data you get from your client in suiting empty fields in the "Client data" section on the right, and then click "OK".

On connection you see the client computer's desktop on fullscreen. To change options, also leave fullscreen mode, press F8 from function keyboard (usually upper part of the keyboard). One option from those available in the context menu you see after pressing F8, is send ctrl+alt+del, which works only in administrative mode.

If you need access to any lower level tools like regedit or other administrative tools, ask your client to run the "RemIT (administrator)" version that removes the constraints put in place by UAC. It's not disabling it, just runs as a system service, which doesn't lower the client computer's security in any way.
This administrative mode is also required for most modern Windows Server machines (starting from 2012R2), as the "normal user" mode does not allow to prompt the currently logged-on user. With administrative mode you still get access, but only to a login window, like no one is signed in. It all depends on security settings of course.

NATIONAL CHARACTERS

All the national characters from outside of ASCII set, are available by pressing left CTRL + ALT + the appropriate symbol (e.g. pressing Ctrl+Alt+a gives "ą" symbol in Polish).

DISCONNECTING

If you need to disconnect from the client, just press F8 and choose "Close viewer". Alternatively, if your session has ended, you can close your client's RemIT window (that with Client data), disconnecting immediately.